Matches

Club Match Section Fixtures 2023 - 2024

 

This is a very active area of the Club with competitions every other Sunday throughout the river season.  Every effort is made to ensure that the environment is made as comfortable and safe as it can be and, to this end, work parties prepare pegs and swims to the benefit of the Club as a whole.    Wherever possible, weather and ground conditions permitting, vehicular access to anglers’ swims is sought from landowners.

Please note that this only applies to pegged matches and pleasure anglers must use the designated car parking points.

NB. Wood Lane Section will also be closed when competitions are held at the upper swims at Colber

 

One of the following should be contacted to book in for matches…

Jeff Sibley 07901037120.             Neil Sims 07920 876638

Ian Paulley 07970228076.            Bill Hanson 07730046950.

It with pleasure that we can inform members that Ian Steele is continuing to improve after his operation and will be actively involved from the start of next season.

Arranging the pegging, pools and other necessities for matches take place on the day before the match.   If anglers are not going to attend, having previously booked in, it is essential that they advise one of the organisers.   If they don’t, the pegging, the draw and the prizes have to be redone on the morning of the match when there is much pressure to get underway

The dates of the Summer and Winter points matches are subject to river conditions and may be postponed to later date(s)

Please note that the entry fee and optional pools have been raised to £20 this season after many years at £15.

DAY & DATEEVENTVENUEDRAWCOMMENTS
Sunday 7 May 2023Club matchSpring Lake, Mappowder0830 in car park
Sunday 21 May 2023Club MatchPheasant Lake, Mappowder0830 in CP
Sunday 4/6/23Club MatchSpring & Pheasant Lakes, Mappowder0830 in CP
Sunday 25/6/23Pearson Trophy
Summer point (1)
Upper ColberThe opposite bank (Wood Lane) is closed for this event
Wednesday 28/6/23Pre Super League practise OpenSowley, Big Ham and Little Ham at Hamgate Farm0830 at top gate of Big Ham.This is an Open competition and entries should be made to Ian Paulley
Sunday 2/7/23Super League Round 1Upper Colber and Sowley (inc. the Hams0830 Fiddleford InnWood Lane - opposite the Match length is closed
Sunday 9/7/23Super League Round 2Upper Colber and Sowley (inc. The Hams)0830 Fiddleford InnDitto
Sunday 16/7/23White Hart Trophy
Summer Points (2)
Upper Colber0830 field off railway trackThe opposite bank (Wood Lane) is closed for this event
Sunday 30/7/23Read Trophy
Summer Points (3)
The Hams and Sowley0830 Top field by Hamgate Farm
Sunday 13/8/23Pairs Cup
Colber Farm0830 between the bridges
Sunday 27/8/23Edwin Short Trophy
Summer Points (4)
Colber Farm0830 between the bridges
Sunday 10/9/23Mappowder MatchSpring LakeDetails from Jamie Mumby
Sunday 10/9/23Gillingham Club MatchUpper ColberWater Closed to our Club members inc. Wood Lane.
Sunday TBFStour Cup
Summer Points
Postponed to 24/9/23
Saturday16/9/23Air Ambulance Open Charity Match
Sunday 24/9/23Club match for the Stour Cup & summer points (6)
Sunday 1/10.23Club MatchMappowder - Spring LakeDetails from Jamie BumbyPheasant is open to members
Sunday 8/10/23BB Cup & Final Summer Points MatchColber FarmIn field between bridgesPlease park away from bank
Sunday 22/10/23First Winter Points MatchHamgate Farm - Sowley Big & Little HamLittle HamPlease close all gates
Sunday 5/11/23River Match cancelledSpring Lake MappowderBook in with Jeff or Jamie BumbyDue to restricted numbers, this will not be a winter points match
Sunday 19/11/23River match cancelledRevells fisheryUsual booking in processNot winter points
Sunday 26/11/23Knock up Hamgate FarmBig & Little HamsBook in with Jeff or BillTrolleys required
Sunday 3/12/23This Match is cancelled
Sunday 10/12/23Xmas MatchRevells Fishery
Sunday 7 Jan 2024WP 2MATCHDEFERRED TO 14 Jan.
Sunday 14 Jan 2024WP 2 at ColberCONDITIONS PERMITTINGHope to confirm by Weds 10/1/24Trolleys needed
Sunday 21 Jan 2024WP 3Steart and Streeters0830/210124 Car ParkTrolleys needed
Sunday 4 Feb 2024WP 4Steart and Streeters0830/040224 Car ParkTrolleys needed
Sunday 18 Feb 2024WP 5Ash Lake, Todber0830/180224 - TodberSilvers only
Sunday 3 March 2024Final Winter pointsRevells Fishery0830/030324 - Revells